Games / Life / Technology

Behold the Future!

So it’s been a couple of weeks since I wrote anything of substance – or  at least what passes for substance around here. My old computer, Joan, did not quite die, but exists as some sort of techno-zombie that I can occasionally re-animate, but not for very long. The good news is that Jade is here, my new Alienware laptop.

Jade

Along with pretty nifty fully-customizable keyboard backlighting, Jade boasts an 18″ screen and specs that make it a significant upgrade from Joan, but isn’t going to turn heads at a LAN Party or anything. (Not that I’ve ever even been to a LAN Party. Do they still have those?) But hey, as long as it runs Photoshop and World of Warcraft, I’m happy. I have yet to install and fire up my old buddy DAZ|Studio, where once upon a time I made 3D artwork, but odds are Jade would make that whole experience a lot less painful as well. I do hope to start doing some more of that again, though. Just have to find the time between girlfriend and work and gaming and blogging…

WoW: Mists of Pandaria is consuming much of my free time at the moment, I have to admit. I’m going to post some impressions of the game later this week as a sort of coda to my post about whether I even should get back into WoW. But Pandaria is a pretty, pretty place, and I would like to move there if it were real and not overrun by emotion-demon-things. And a lot fewer idiots yelling random insulting crap on General chat. But anyway, like I said, more on that later.

Back to Jade: a curious side-effect of getting a new computer with a bigger screen and better resolution is that my background for Rhoades to Madness no longer fills my screen. I’m running 1920×1080, so I guess that really shouldn’t have surprised me. I’ll have to get around to fixing it one of these days.

Anyway, no earth-shattering news here, just letting the few that care know I’m still alive and still plan on updating this place with actual content. Keep the faith and all that junk!

Leave a comment